## Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available in 25 Counties + Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Following Hurricane Helene

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits are available for residents of the following counties:

Alexander	Alleghany	Ashe	Avery	Buncombe
Burke	Caldwell	Catawba	Clay	Cleveland
Gaston	Haywood	Henderson	Jackson	Lincoln
Macon	Madison	McDowell	Mitchell	Polk
Rutherford	Transylvania	Watauga	Wilkes	Yancey

People in the above-listed counties who are unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Helene may be eligible for unemployment benefits under the DUA program.

## The deadline to apply is December 2, 2024.

DUA is a federal unemployment program that provides temporary payments for people who, as a direct result of Hurricane Helene:

· No longer have the job that provided their primary source of income.

· Are unable to reach their place of unemployment.

· Cannot work because of an injury caused by the storm.

 $\cdot$  Were unable to begin employment or self-employment due to the storm.

• Have become the major supplier of household income due to a storm-related death of the previous major supplier of household income.

## For more information, go to www.des.nc.gov/dua

