The governor’s order banned landlords from filing eviction cases or scheduling lockouts between May 30 and June 20, 2020.
If your landlord did something to try to evict you between May 30 and June 20, 2020, your landlord may be breaking the law and you may have a legal right to stop the eviction.
The new CARES Act freezes evictions for nonpayment of rent for “covered properties” until near the end of August.
If you rent a home that has a federal housing subsidy (like Section 8, public housing, a tax credit, etc.), or if the property you are renting has a federally backed mortgage (like an FHA loan, a VA loan, a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan, etc.), it is a “covered property,” and a landlord is not allowed to evict for nonpayment right now.
If a landlord filed a case after March 27, 2020, but didn’t file the CARES Act affidavit, then the case should be dismissed.
The N.C. Supreme Court ordered that landlords trying to evict tenants for nonpayment after March 27 must file an affidavit stating that their property is not covered under the CARES Act.
If you think your landlord may be breaking the law, Legal Aid of North Carolina is FREE and may be able to help—even if you missed your first eviction court date or already had an eviction judgment entered against you. You have 10 days to appeal an eviction judgment.
You may qualify for Rental Assistance.
The Department of Health and Human Services allocated $26 million for rental assistance for tenants. Call Legal Aid of North Carolina to find the Community Assistance agency in your county.
We may be able to help you.
If you need legal help, call our statewide toll-free helpline at 1-866-219-5262 or apply online. Se habla español.